Ultimate Subaru Message Board

effing alternators

So i was driving my '88 XT to school this morning, which is a 40 mile commute one way from LaConner to Bellingham. About 2/3ds of the way there my alternator craped out. i barely made it into the parking lot before my battery died. This was a junkyard replacement alternator that i installed a week ago after the original alternator died.

Yesterday, most of the important fuses popped halfway to school at 7:30 in the morning while i was driving 70 on the freeway during rush hour. I lost the parking lights, head lights, turn indicators,dash lights, wiper; pretty much everything that a person needs while driving when it is dark and raining.

i am an auto student at tech school and my teacher let me fix it at school. I found the whole wiring harness behind the radio had been hacked apart and i am guessing that all of the wires touched and then grounded out. i electrical taped all the lose ends and frayed wires and that seemed to fix it. Except for the radiator fan which melts fuses because it draws 18 amps through a 15 amp fuse.

I have to catch the bus to mount vernon now so i will finish this later

damn car

i missed the ******* bus FML

so the XT still has some issues to work out.

What would cause the radiator fan to draw that much power? Should i replace it? Would the cluster**** wiring disaster cause all those fuses to blow?

I'm hoping that the replacement alternator died because of old age. I ordered a lifetime warrenty reman through my school so i get it for shop price. But i havent had any luck with remanufactures; I went through 5 reman alternators in two weeks on my '85 wagon, and it is sitting at home with a dead alternator still.

Edited by Markus56

I ordered a lifetime warrenty reman through my school so i get it for shop price. But i havent had any luck with remanufactures;