Ultimate Subaru Message Board

88 XT-GL air suspension to gas

Is there a fairly wasy and inexpensive way to replace the factory air suspension with traditional gas shocks? I have a 1988 XT-GL coupe. I believe that it can be done, but I am having no luck finding much information on exactly what need to be done. Help PLEASE!

Go to the nearest junk yard. Find almost ANY ea82 powered rig. Remove and purchase shocks/struts w/springs from all 4 corners. Go home and replace said items onto said xt. That would be the cheapest way. Spend a few extra bucks and buy new struts/shocks for whatever ea82 car you find springs from, and your car will handle very well. Thanks, Spencer

So ANY ea82 powered suby will do?its all just bolt-on? Is there anyone else with any input?

No offense spencer, I am new to the world of subys and absolutely love this car. I just want to make sure that it will all work if I go to a junkyard and purchase these parts.

If you can find one, the front springs on the RX coupe are stiffer than the standard Subie set-up. I did the swap, and lucked out to find an RX in the bone yard with both springs. Oh, I would definitely get new struts though. It's amazing the difference that makes.