Ultimate Subaru Message Board

87 GL wagon, few questions...

I'm fairly new to the automotive world, and to this fourm, so... Hello!

I wanted to discuss a few problems, so it might be a big post...

I got myself an 87 GL wagon in November with 202K on the odometer, and it ran pretty awesome. It started like a dream at -20ºF :)

It now has 210,815(and is stuck there because the speedometer cable died 2 days ago)

It's running a little rough, but I suspect the ignition system is just worn out.

However, now that it's a bit warmer, it's been idling weird. The choke functions normally at start up, but after a little driving the idle hops up to 2K That's denting my miles per gallon just a little bit. The carb was replaced right before I got the car,

I replaced the air filter yesterday, and it seemed to just idle a little higher.

I haven't tried adjusting the idle screw because it idles normally when it's just getting warm, and I don't want to make it worse.

Also, the 3AT is kinda starting to suck. I'd really like to do a 5 speed D/R swap if I can find a decent transmission to use.

Also, how troublesome/costly is the EJ swap? I don't have a lot of cash on hand, but I may have a slightly wrecked, but still strong running 1996 Legacy L sedan available, provided it doesn't get traded for bodywork and paint job on my mum's brat.

A while after I got it, someone was kind enough to slam in to my car when I was pulling through an intersection. I was going about 3 mph, and someone hit me at about 25. It popped into neutral, and a couple veins in my forehead. Luckily it was just a Datsun B210, so the damage wasn't too extreme

However, the tail of my car is a little saggy now

0511001826.jpg

I tried jacking it up by the bumper and jumping on the car didn't budge it.

How much work is that going to be?