Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Loyale Wheel Bearings

Hey guys,

Getting ready to do my wheel bearings here and I've been doing a little homework as it is my first try. My front drivers side wheel is making a grinding sort of noise especially at low speeds, hard cornering seems to make it go away. On the free way I can feel a sort of pulsation in the pedal and it just feels like something is wrong. I'm thinking it might be the wheel bearings due to the 217,xxx miles on the car. Today I tightened up the castle nut just to be sure, drove it around a bit and the noise was gone..... the cotter pin was intact, so I know the nut couldn't have been too loose. My question is could a castle nut be responsible for all of the noises I was hearing? Will this be a permanent fix or temporary? I have all the wheel bearings and am gonna hang onto them until I've driven a couple hundred miles just to see. Your guy's questions comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

A loose castle nut can be the sourse of All the symptoms you described and a lot more. Tighten it to 150 ft. lbs. Install the cotter key and check the other side. That should be a permenent fix,unless you drove around that way for quite a while.

Other than your wheel falling off,a loose castle nut will let the splines on the axle chew away the splines within the hub.

Yep - it could have damaged the hub splines - those are typically softer than the steel in the half-shaft so they get chewed up rather than the shaft.

If there was prolonged vibration involved it could have damaged the wheel bearings as well. They might be ok but they might fail in a few thousand miles.

GD