Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Is a 99 OBW Worth Parting Out?

I picked up a 99 Outback wagon a couple years ago that had a crapped out engine and transmission. I got tired of fooling with it and don't really have time to continue the project, so I want to get the car out of the way and hopefully recapture a little of the cash I paid for it. I live in KY and there aren't really a lot of guys who wrench on project Subarus. The car is in the country, so a somewhat local salvage yard might offer me $100 for it. The title is good but is a "floating" title as I could never transfer it in my name because it wouldn't run to pass a state inspection required for title transfer.

I'd like to get $300 to 400 back out of the thing. Do you think I would have better luck parting it out or trying to sell it whole as a parts car? Are there enough people looking for used parts off a 99 OBW to make stripping it worth the effort? I've never tried parting a car out before, but in the area this car is parked, I can't see someone hauling it away whole for more than scrap metal price.

Just looking for some input for what would be better to do...

Put an ad in the for sale section for parts. There is probably plenty of good stuff still there. Whether you get $300 out of it depends. Most parts are worth more if they're known to be good at the time of sale. That's hard to do with engine parts on an engine that doesn't run, but you can strip all the various sensors off and try selling them. Things like the MAF, MAP, knock sensor, coil pack, etc.

Cylinder heads could be sold for a decent price if you take them off and have them pressure checked to be sure there are no cracks/bent valves.

Interior or body parts if in good condition can usually get a fair amount, all just depends on who's looking for what at the time.