Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I just bought a 1996 2.5 legacy for 500 bucks. It needs work and though being a competent mechanic, I know nothing about subarus. Two problems I am facing, one is electrical. With the key off and the battery fully charged, the parking lights and instrument panel lights flash on and off... I can hear a relay under the dash clicking on and off and every so many seconds it pauses like it is overheating and then resumes clicking on and off. I am tempted to find the relay and replace it. Any suggestions? The second problem is more complex. I bought it from a woman who had taken it to a local shop because it stopped running. the mechanic said he replaced an electrical module, but now it will barely run, has no power and feels very stiff. I pulled the exaust pipes off in case it was a stopped up catalitic converter but it made no difference. The antifreeze looks dirty, but it has 202k on it. Just curious if the Head gaskets can leak and cause it to run very poorly without shooting air into the radiator... This is the dual overhead cam version..

Hello and welcome to the board.

That first item with the flashing parking lights sounds like the security system. it will do that if the battery gets replaced or goes dead, etc. If you have the remote just use the door unlock button. Otherwise I think you can cycle the key from off to run three times quickly to reset it but that might have been only on later years.

See if you can get more details about what module the mechanic replaced. There could be lots of reasons for it running poorly. Does it have a check engine light on at all and if so what are the codes?

That first item with the flashing parking lights sounds like the security system. it will do that if the battery gets replaced or goes dead, etc. If you have the remote just use the door unlock button. Otherwise I think you can cycle the key from off to run three times quickly to reset it but that might have been only on later years.