Ultimate Subaru Message Board

my last car (maybe)

Milton_Havoc

:grin:

well im looking to add what might be my last additon to my garage.

I am considering an subaru gl hatchback. Im new to subaru and its drive systems, never dealt with awd, and have no idea about the different engines and awd systems. BUT, im not new to tunning cars. I have a 300zx(z32) and an 84 200sx with a(200hp ka-t).

I would love an education on subarus!

my insperation comes from two places:

my best friend had a gl-hatch, and that thing was a tank.

the new sti hatches are beautiful style wise,and i plan on a complementing style update to the gl(nothing crazy like halo's or front fascia swaps)

Now, before i jump into one i have a lot of questions and statements.

my first statement is:

if i do buy one, i plan on doing a frame off restoration/update.

Mainly just to cure some of the rust that i hear is problematic in these cars.

get rid of any wiring thats not needed, and bring it up to par for driving.

I want to update the drivetrain/suspension/motor.

wich brings me to the questions:

i want to find a suitable motor for this car.

i dont want a crazy 500hp(i have a z32 for that)

a modest 200hp would be great.

I read a lot of the people dropping in an ej(?) to other older cars.

am i stuck in the same boat as the justy's with just a small engine compartment?

As far as updating the suspension and drivetrain goes, how hard would it be to bring it up to date with current awd?

what is the motor thats in it good for, hp wise? any chance of building it up to my hp expectations?

thanks for the help and ideas in advance!

Here's all I got: :)

which brings me to the questions:

i want to find a suitable motor for this car. Okay

i dont want a crazy 500hp(i have a z32 for that) Good

a modest 200hp would be great. Sure

I read a lot of the people dropping in an ej(?) to other older cars.