Ultimate Subaru Message Board

cold start question

I've searched these forums and haven't found the right answer, so here it goes:

I just got an '85 GL wagon 4wd w/ carburetor. It's got a little rust, but it runs pretty good all things considered.

The problem is that it will not start if it's colder than about 40 deg.

Disclaimer - I'm a novice at best, with car things.

I figured out that if I hold the butterfly valve on the carburetor closed while someone cranks it, it starts right up. I tried cleaning off the easy-to-get-to parts of the carburetor with carb cleaner, but other than that I don't know how to fix the it so that it starts without me having to manually hold that butterfly valve shut.

Any suggestions?

The choke spring is broken - they have a "hook" bent into the end of the bi-metal spring that engages the choke plate lever. After years of use and cold-temp starting the choke spring wear through at the hook and no longer catches the plate lever - rendering the choke plate fully open at all times. You can replace the electric choke (go to the dealer for this part and be prepared for sticker shock) or conver it to a manual choke using some of the generic kits that are availible at most auto-parts stores - there is usually some mild fabrication involved, removal of the air filter housing, drilling of the rivets holding the choke on, and a bit of work installing the manual choke cable through the firewall and mounting it under the dash, etc.

Another alternative is to install a Weber carb instead. This will give an increase in performance as well as fix your choke problem and is well worth the entry price of ~$350 or so. About twice the price of the electric choke part from the dealer but worth every penny unlike the dealer part which is only fixing an already old and crappy carb.

GD

Edited by GeneralDisorder