Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Looking to buy a new Subie, is this the wrong way?

So, my current Subie is rusting to pieces and as much as it pains me I think it is getting to be time to retire it. I really don't want any other kind of car, but I also don't have much cash to work with. So, I have found a '97 Outback that is cosmetically in good shape, but doesn't run. The car is cheap, less that $1000. I was all fired up to buy the thing and fix it, and then I started reading here....

First off, I am no mechanic. I fix all my own cars and I'm a pretty handy guy, but most of my fixing has been "this part is broken, take it off and put on the new part" kind of fixes. So, would be diagnosing what is wrong with this car be beyond me? Unfortunately I'd be buying it from a 3rd party, so I can't talk to the original owner. All the people know is that it was running, then it stopped running. Turn the key and it cranks, but doesn't even try to start. That's all I've got.

My current Subie is a 2.2, has run great for me. After reading all these (ok, not ALL of them but plenty) threads about head gaskets in 1st gen 2.5's that makes me wonder if I should even consider this. The car has 211K on it, and I have no way of knowing if they've ever been done. I'm not sure that's a project or expense I want.

A timing belt would be a given without knowing how many miles are on it, I'm up for that have done that on a 2.2 before.

IF I did decide to go ahead and get the car, and couldn't get it to run, or it needed too much, would it be possible to swap the engine out for a 2.2? It sounds like they're a lot more reliable, and I like that the older 2.2's are not interference. The car has a manual trans if it matters. Pretty sure I'd be up for that job, I had to replace the 350 Chevy in the first car I owned. I'm not going to say it was the most fun I've ever had but I got it done.