Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I'm no mechanic, but this seems weird

My new to me 99 forester(2.5 SOHC w/ 150k miles) started missing, but never showed a check engine light. I swaped out the plugs and wires, and that didn't fix the misfire, it started showing the dreaded p 0420 code almost immediatly after I swapped the plugs and wires. I need to find out exactly what's causing this misfire and get it fixed ASAP. Hopefully before the CC is completly ruined by the unburned fuel in the exaust system, if it's not already too late.

I was frustrated by the local parts store when they told me there is no book for this year vehicle. They offer one that covers all Soobies up till 98, then all other books start at 2000. HELP!

Thanks

Charlie

Since things got worse with your plug/wire combo - make sure you are using NGK plugs and either NGK or OEM wires - other brands of either have proven troublesome.

Test your coil pack for sure. Note that there are two coils in there - the primiary side of each should be about 1 Ohm and the secondary side should be about 15 to 20k Ohms for a good, hot spark.

P0420 code is related to catalyst effeciency - many things can set it off.

GD

If the coil pack is the problem, and I decide to fork out the cash for a new one, is this something I should buy only from the dealer, or can I get one from O'Reilly's?

Oops, I've been wanting to try the E3 plugs, so that's what I installed. I was hoping to get a little better milage out of it. So you guys think I should swap them out for NGKs? I've always been happy with the cheep NGKs I've used on other vehicles in the past, so I guess that's what Ill swap back to.

Edited by upDUHcreek

As a general rule Subaru's don't like anything but NGK or Denso plugs. Sometimes people get away with it but you are generally better off getting the $2 NGK's than anything else.