Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Frozen Valve.

After sitting for several years I got my Loyale running again. The only problem now appears to be a frozen valve. Only 3 cylinders is getting pressure and the 3rd appears to have the valve stuck open. are there any easy ways to solve this without taking out the motor and opening her up? A local place wanted $800 to fix it but that's not happening.

YOu may actually have a deropped valve seat. Pull the valve cover ans dee if you can locate the offending valve. If it is truel stuck, youmight be able to rap it with a hammer and get it loose. A dropped seat is going to require machine shop repairs.

Good luck

Does it make a ton of noise when its running?

Dropped seats are very loud and do a lot of damage very fast...if it is a dropped seat, your cheaper bet will be to get a new head. I used to be an auto machinist and know first hand what it takes to fix them.

How do you know its a stuck valve?

I wouldn't rule out head gaskets, a timing belt mis-aligned, or possibly a burnt valve. If the valve is stuck, its going to make horrible noise from the loose rocker arm rattling against the cam and lifter. I've never had it happen to a Subaru, but head gaskets dont always leak coolant when they go. I've also had them leak cylinder to cylinder, cylinder to outside the motor, and cylinder to oil passage

I'd take the valve cover off and possibly the cam towers to see if anything is apparent there. If you decide to tap the valves, be careful because they are small and can bend, also if you miss and hit the spring retainer, it can pop the keepers out and the valve can fall/get pushed into the cylinder. Just look for slop in the valve train...