Ultimate Subaru Message Board

What kinda turbo to get?? (03 WRX)

Not sure if this is the right section to post this, but i just bought an 03 WRX and it needs a new turbo(its leaking), it is already set up for a bigger turbo, so i prolly wont get a stock one. What would you guys recomend for around $150-250? Ive never had a turboed car or anything so im new to this.

Thanks

Evan

If it's setup for a larger turbo then you need to find out which one. You can't just slap a different one in and expect it to work with the cars tune. You need to get an exact replacement or have the car tuned for whichever one you settle on.

That said - VF-39's are cheap these days. That's probably what I would look for.

GD

A t3 or t4 would not be bolt on. Sounds like you have a bunch of research to do. If you put on a different turbo than what was on there, or different than stock, you also need to have it tuned. There is really a fair amount involved with all of this, so make sure you learn as much as you can about your car, and what it had/has.

1. Please clarify..

You stated:

turbo pipes xs bov pink injectors

Is that:

- turbo

-pipes (exhaust??)

- XS BOV

- Pink Injectors

Pink injectors are probably STi 565cc injectors, from an JDM STi (Called JDM since they were only avl. on Japanese Domestic Models). Even though WRX and STi's are built in Japan, cars have different components depending on where they are being sold - Japan, Australia, Europe, USA, etc.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

2.How do you know it's a bigger turbo?

Better off to buy a USED lower mileage TD04 from NASIOC or Ebay. GET A REAL SUBARU turbo - not a 'knock-off' or you'll likely be buying another one in less than 10K miles. Guess how I know???:banghead: