Ultimate Subaru Message Board

closed course road racing hypothetical

Hello everyone!! i'm new to the message boards here and somewhat new to subaru ownership. about six months ago i convinced my wife to switch from the dark side and sell her 05 lancer ralliart for an 09 impreza outback sport. i never really liked the mitsu and have always wanted to get her a subie since the hatchbacks came out in 08. i love the idea of her driving a mini tank that will get her home in any weather. plus, she's a travel nurse and we travel all over the country and needed the extra space to haul an entire apartments worth of crap some 3000 miles through snow and mountains and whatever else this land of ours had to offer. other than the not-so-great fuel economy i love our little wagon. 

anyway, i found a part time job while we're in scottsdale, az for the winter and a coworker has an 08 civic coupe, which got me thinking: who would win a road race? no lame drag racing, but a proper race with turns and everything!! both cars are 5-speed manuals, while mine is fully loaded (read: heavy as spoob) and his is the stripped out base model and about 394 pounds lighter. 0-60 gives a tenth of a second edge to the impreza, but it's about 3 inches taller and an inch shorter wheelbase. as much as i'd love to say my car is faster, i'm afraid the power advantage and all wheel drive traction will be beaten by the smaller, lighter civic. 

now, this guy isn't some vetac shouting loser fanboy. he just got a great deal on it so now it's his car. he's a really good guy so it's not acrimonious or anything. we're just curious. i didn't want to check with the honda forums cuz my experience with them has led me to think they're not the most reasonable people, so i'm asking you good folks. who ya got?