Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Good thing it's non interference.

Just put a new thermostat and water pump on the wife's 280K 96 EJ22.

(Nothing compares to having a stuck thermostat while driving to a Easter dinner family get together). Anyhow I was putting the tensioner pivot bolt back in but it was just spinning and wouldn't get a bite. I backed the bolt out and sure enough there was aluminum stuck in the threads of the bolt. I searched my collection of misc bolts but could not find a longer one with the same thread pitch. Slightly annoyed and in a hurry to get it back on the road I coated the threads with ultra grey and buttoned it up. I took it for a nascar redliner test drive around the neighborhood and it's holding. I imagine I'll dive back into it soon so I don't lose anymore sleep over it. Should I heli coil it? I've never done that before. I forgot to check the depth too.

There is room to use a longer bolt (I can't recall if I could get 10, 15 or 20 mm longer) and it was enough to get past the bad spots and get more bite.

You could also swap out the tensioner bracket (three bolts holds it onto the block).  I ended up getting another while at the pick and pull.  I think I paid $5 for it and that solved it (and much cheaper than a helicoil, unless you already have the correct size in your arsenal).

the tensioner bolts to a bracket that bolts to the block.

iirc, the idler does too.

just get a replacement bracket.

I wish I would have kept my old 99 block I had for a reference. I have the old style tensioner-a horizontally mounted slave cylinder looking device with two 12mm bolts securing it. Are you certain the idler bolt I'm having trouble with is anchored to the bracket also? Thanks.