Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Engine turns over but wont start

Im so thankful for this forum!

I have a 90 legacy wagon 2.2l with over 230,000 miles. Car has run like a camp and then all of a sudden engine turns over but wont start. I have made sure spark plugs are getting a spark, there is plenty of fuel in the tank and fuel pump is pumping. Im still a novice when it comes to DIY car projects. Does anyone have a thought on what to look for or check next?

Thanks

Could be electrical... but look at the timing belt first.  A sudden no start on the 2.2 with fast cranking is usually a timing belt.  That engine is a non interference motor so not a problem if the belt has broken/slipped. Pull the end timing cover off (3, 10mm bolts) and check belt for condition and tightness...  you won't have any doubt if the belt is broken . 

I will check the timing belt. I just changed it 6 months ago but maybe it slipped. Also, when I checked to make sure the fuel pump was working I pulled the fuel line on the engine side of the fuel filter and it was gushing out. So i just assumed it wasnt the fuel filter either.

Thanks for the suggestions. I will let you know if there is anything with the timing belt

I will check the timing belt. I just changed it 6 months ago but maybe it slipped. Also, when I checked to make sure the fuel pump was working I pulled the fuel line on the engine side of the fuel filter and it was gushing out. So i just assumed it wasnt the fuel filter either.

Thanks for the suggestions. I will let you know if there is anything with the timing belt

did you also change the idler pulleys and other related items at that time?

I had my 1990 jump time while driving due to a weak/worn out tensioner... just a thought...

Timing belt is looking good and tight. I checked that the camshafts and crankshaft all line up with timing marks and they do. Any other thoughts before I put it all back together?  What about the next thing to look for?

Thanks for your imputs so far