Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Ea82 help. Motor overheated now ownt start

Newbie here. I have an ea82 in a mudboat in south Louisiana and I basically wired and installed it myself (minus the mechanics) the motor was put in by a professional and basically his business is repairing and installing sub's in mudboats so he's good at it. Now I wired everything and took her for a ride the other day and it went fine at about 5mph(we were idleing the whole trip mostly) about half way through the trip I forgot something in my truck and ran wide open to the truck and she did fine there and back but on the way back when I slowed down it overheated and spewed coolant out of the day tank resevoir so I let it cool slowly and put fresh coolant in and she ran the next 3 hours at 180°f and was purring beautifully. on the way back from our trip I opened her up again and was actually pulled back on the throttle a little so my friend could stay with me in his boat and about 3-5 minutes into running I heard a pop noise the motor killed and would not start again. Like I stated I'm a newbie and understand the basics of this engine but I am dumped as to what the problem is. I will remove the thermostat this evening and check my spark but past that I'm out of ideas as to what that pop noise was. There is no water in the oil either so I don't think the issue is huge its just to pin point what it is. So any help and advice would be great right now, duck season opens Saturday in my area and I really don't want to boat hop for too long this year. Thanks

• Like 1

I hope you figure out the problem.  The guy who set you up with the motor would probably be a good help to you also. 

Also it would be SWEEEET to see some video or even photos of your mudboat!! Sounds awesome and a lot of fun!!

Good luck with the fix and the ducks.