Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I have a puzzle to solve on a Legacy ECU... help?

Hi, I'm new to Subarus and was hoping for some insight on a flashing CEL... 

I have a 94 Impreza with a 96 Legacy 2.5 motor in it.  This is the high compression one with HLA DOHC heads.

In order to run the motor in my OBD1 car, I used an OBD1 JDM 1995 Legacy 2.5 ECU and rewired the harness for it.  Everything seems to work, I added a knock sensor on the appropriate pin.

However, I can reset the ECU, turn the ignition on without starting the car, and the CEL starts flashing continuously.  The test connectors are not connected.  I thought that the steady flashing is supposed to mean a misfire is occuring, which is detected using the cam and/or crank sensors.  Since the engine is not running, I don't see how the ECU detects a misfire...  is there any other cause for this flashing??  I have swapped out both the cam and crank sensors, and no change.

The other thing that happens is that the motor runs perfectly when cold, then starts running rich and misfiring a bit when it's warmed up, and it's cutting out at exactly 5000 rpm in every gear.  I've swapped out the MAF sensor twice, bought a new O2 sensor, ECT, and all the emissions stuff is disabled because the JDM ECU isn't programmed for it.  Fuel system is all new w/rebuilt injectors, same with ignition, exhaust is all new/copper gaskets, no leaks in the intake.

I'm thinking that the running issues are caused by the CEL flashing, but I don't know what the problem is.  I thought maybe there are some OBD1 gurus on here, any insights would be appreciated?

Hi,

This doesn't help...now...but did you look @ swapping the throttle body from your '94 1.8 and running it w/the stock ECU on the 2.5? It should've been good to go....but I've not had the pleasure of working on the 1.8  so may not swap.....?

Google this: OBD1 JDM 1995 Legacy 2.5 ECU