Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1996 Legacy L Wagon Engine advice and help

Bought my wagon second hand as a work vehicle. It already had over 200,000 miles on it then. The engine has developed a ticking, like the oil is low when it's not. I keep a check on it because it leaks. (It was a $900 car that I've gotten over a year's use out of! lol)  Was thinking of swapping it out to a 2.5. I'm new to Subarus and learning about them as I go so forgive the ignorance on the subject. It currently has a 2.2 and 5 speed tranny. My questions are, Is the 2.5 a better engine? Will the current tranny bolt up to different engines? OR Should I just swap another 2.2 into it? Advice is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance for your time.

Stay with a 2.2, it's a much better engine and does not have the head gasket problems the DOHC 2.5 have. 

You may have a bad lifter.  Have you pulled your valve covers?  The 2.2 had both adjustable valves and hydraulic lifters.  If you have adjustable ones, check the valve clearance.  If you have hyd, there is no adjustment but a lifter could be bad.

Running 5-30 Oil?  

agree on keeping the 2.2 - it is just a more robust design, and the small amount of hp gain in the 2.5 is not worth the headaches they introduce.

if the car is leaking oil, have you investigated where it is coming from?

you may need to simply reseal the oil pump to get the pressure back up where it should be.

When did it last get a timing job? if unknown, I would plan on doing a full timing service sooner, rather than later. Full service consists of new belt, pulleys, oil seals & water pump (i usually do radiator/coolant hoses as well at this time).

Full timing kits are easily obtained for around $200 for this motor, and doing the work should only take an afternoon...

While in there, pull & reseal the oil pump, and you should be good to go for a long time.

Glad to have you join us on this forum. Everyone here is open to help you.