Ultimate Subaru Message Board

82 Subaru Brat EA-81 weber/carter rebuild kits?

I like my weber/carter but i cannot sorce a rebuild kit. I have a 2nd motor with a Hitachi intake manifold so i may go 32/36 weber in the future(the Hitachithat was attachedis in terrible condition rusty and corroded out sides and non moving internals and just plain "toast" im usingit as a learning tool). 

Im just wanting to find a kit for the one i have on the engine right now also. 

If anyone has any info on where I can find or aquire the kit to rebuild and possibly where i can find the model numbers on the weber/carter i have please let me know :)

im new to the Subaru game but i am in love with my ea81's.

Edited by Ellaurance

You are not kidding! The rebuild kit on that thing is close to new carb price..... why? Thank you though now i have a model name/number and a wake up on it. Might aswell go weber 32/36 ...... its a bit easier to maintain through time seince the parts are still available and more affordable.... THANK YOU @naru2 

What vehicle are you working on? If you dont mind me asking.

Maybe you don`t need a kit.

Pretty common for the throttle body to come loose from the float bowl and mess up the idle.

Hard to tell w/o removing the carb.

You might find this worth reading https://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/topic/170101-82-subaru-brat-ea-81-webercarter-rebuild-kits/

I have an 84 turbo wagon,but,I used to have an 82 GL wagon w/the carter weber.I liked it

• Thanks 1

I mean the weber/carter currently seems ok, it idles around 8-900 rpm warm and cold idles at 2000 like recommend. On the idle it raises and lowers slightly but not alot. i have a problem with stopping the engine, i turn the switch off and it will wind down than try to start its self or keep going, its strange . It its in good timing  and the whole "spark" system is prety new (coil, distributor, cap, rotor, plugs , wires , ect.)and battery is also new.