Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Need help with my first Subaru ever

OldBlue

Hey there! Complete newbie so please excuse any obvious questions I ask.

Just bought an '85 Subaru 2wd GL station wagon. Today on my drive to work, as I was making a U-turn, the power steering (PS) began screaming at me and smoke started to come out from under the hood. I pulled over and parked it and, sure enough, there's a nice puddle of steering fluid under the car.

Questions:

1) I'm assuming this is the PS pump although I'll be checking all of the hoses. Any advice on replacing this? How much should one run at the junkyard?

2) What are the odds I've done damage to the PS system and will need to replace more than the pump?

3) Any advice on the install, etc.? I'll be doing it myself.

Thanks!

Justyn

'85 2wd GL Station Wagon - Old Blue

"You're my boy, Blue!"

Justyn:

Welcome aboard.

The power steering pumps on these cars are very easy to service. They are bolted right up top, slightly to the left. About the only reccomendation I would make on removing it is to use a flare wrench to avoid damaging the lines. Also, be aware that it will be messy so have plenty of rags on hand.

A used one should run about $20 or so at the junkyard.

good luck, John

This happened to me once and it turned out to be just a loose hose at the pump. The hoses are usually bolted down with little brackets here and there, so they may seem tight but might actually just be resting up against the pump.

If it is just the pump and you can live without, these little cars are remarkably easy to manuever without power steering - I ended up just getting shorter belts and disconnecting mine and removing it.

worst case scenario would be a bad rack and pinion. it will probably be easy to see where the leak occurred, but otherwise, check the hydraulic fittings first, then the pump, then the R/P. that's also in order of ease of replacement :D