Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EJ-series water pump longevity

Hey everybody, I'm still pretty new to the EJ subaru engines, so this may be a stupid question, but here goes...

In about two months, I'm going to be doing a bunch of service on the EJ22 that's in my 86 wagon as well as the EJ25 in my mom's 97 Outback, including timing belt changes and replacing most of the seals on the front to the engines. I had heard somewhere that the water pumps on these engines like to go out at about 150,000 miles. Is this a common thing on these cars, or do the pumps usually run longer than that without any trouble? Both cars are creeping up on that mileage, so I'm wondering if I should replace the water pumps while I'm in there, rather than having them fail in a few thousand miles and having to take everything apart again. I would especially be worried about the EJ25 since their head gaskets are so sensitive, and overheating might cause them to go.

Thanks!

For the amount of work it takes to get to the water pump, usually as long as your there, you replace the water pump, timing belts, seals and oil pump and oil seals, then you are good again till the next 150 K.

It sounds like alot of expense as you are doing it all at once, but just imagine having to do that labor to get to the parts three tims (belt, seals, and water pump) al of which usually require some maint in 150K

nipper

Hey everybody, I'm still pretty new to the EJ subaru engines, so this may be a stupid question, but here goes...