Ultimate Subaru Message Board

ea82 carb gas mileage driving?

hey, i am new to subies, and have been on this forum for a little while. but i do have 1 question.... i have 29" tires, 87 wagon ea82 carb, 5-speed DR, and i have heard that many people very rarely put it in 5th because the gas mileage goes down or something? i have also done all of the normal gas mileage stuff. i am acustomed to the 2500RPM rule, and i have been doing that with my wagon, but i have been getting 17MPG or so, i was wondering how others with simalar setups drive? and what is there gas mileage? i have heard people making like 28mpg thanks, please help! lol

When I had my EA82 engine, I almost never used 5th gear. The engine would always lug in that gear unless I was going downhill at like 70mph.

17 is a little low. Are you sure you're calculating the tire size difference correctly? Regardless, it sounds like a full tuneup is in order, because most people I've talked to get somewhere between 20 and 25 mpg in their lifted rigs on the highway.

After trying the stock hitachi carb and a Weber, I finally gave up and converted to fuel injection. At least for my primary car, I'll never go back.

My 1985 Subaru DL 2wd with an EA82 engine gets pretty good highway mileage, and I've never heard of not using 5th gear when applicable. 5th gear is overdrive, and should always produce better mileage than 4th gear at the proper speed. Personally I don't use 5th gear until I get past 60 mph. At below 55 mph on level ground in 5th my engine will start to chug from the strain, but past that its fine. Never had a problem, and as long as the engine is steady everything should be working fine.

On the highway I usually get between 35 and 45 mpg, and have gotten as high as 47 before. But in crowded city streets with moderate traffic I only get about 17, just like you stated before. 28 mpg sounds like a good average of both driving conditions, if that is where you got the number from.