Ultimate Subaru Message Board

White smoke exhaust

I'm pumping out some serious white exhaust these past few days. I did a full tune up and ever since then, it's been like this. Any ideas?

Just to clear things up, I did use a FRAM pcv valve. Is this likely to be the source? From what I've read, that is the only thing I can think of since it has not overheated, and It wasn't happening prior to the tune up.

Any thoughts would be great!

Thanks,

Kevin

yeah, i just read more and learned that. problem is, i just checked my coolant, and yes it needed to be topped off, but i check it monthly, and it is at the exact same level that it is usually at.

A bit more clarification, however. It does it bad when it first starts up (always done that), and by the time it is at running temp, it does it intermittantly and very lightly. Any thoughts?

white smoke is water/coolant!

yikes. this is quickly going from bad to worse.

I'm completely new at engine work, and to tell ya the truth, I don't even know where to look. I'd like to learn however.

I have the chilton book, and that can probably be some help, but does anyone know of a walkthrough (for dummies, newbies, etc.) that I can have a look at?

When I say newbie, I mean it. Is this on top, side, bottom? huh? wha?

Also, if I choose to not repair it (I'd like to, but if it is something that I simply can't do, I don't really have the money to get it fixed in a shop), what is the worst that could happen if i keep my coolant topped off? Will it progress? will it damage anything else?

If you are going to take off your head (not yours, the engines! :P ) you should just have a close look at the gasket to see if it looks to be leaking. Other wise I'm pertty sure you will need to take the head off :( you can do that while the engine is in the car BTW.