Ultimate Subaru Message Board

ok... i've exhausted the search button...(prob. solved)

so, there seem to be a lot of threads on this forum that refer to some portion of replacing axle shafts, but not enough to get me started. I need to do one front and one rear on my '81 subaru wagon... i have NOT been able to find any write up or article that so many threads refer to and I've never done this before, my last and only other vehicle was a jeep w/ live axles. I dont exactly want to spend all weekend just figuring out how to take something apart and have to wait the next weekend to get it put back together :banghead:

and/or

could anyone give me a line on where to pick up a FSM for this?

thanks a bunch

axles are easy first on the front there will be a roller pin on the inside next to the tranny...knock that out and romove it from the splines. then remove the cotter pin and castle nut from the hub. then use a "gentle adjustment tool" a.k.a BFH and beat it from the outside in.

Rears are 2 count'em 2 roller pins...first knock out the inside roller pin and remove that side from the splines then remove the outside roll pin and remove it from the splines....Remember take the inside off first or your going to have a hellava time getting the outside one off and you will probably have to remove lower control arm and such.....OOO and roll pins only go in 1 way.

ok thanks thats awesome, will help me a LOT... I have a couple more questions:

I read something about axle shafts from advance auto parts(I think?) or something where they slip on and off a lot easier... it something that toyotas use I think, anyone have any information about these? and what are the best axle shafts to use and where I can get them? I figure I will have this car long enough to do this several times.