Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hello all,

I am relatively new to the 2.5 world, I used to work at a stealership as a tech's assistant but had to quit when I started college. I'm used to the 95 and older soobs, but so far I like the 2.5 and have have done a headgasket job on one and have 2 more cars needing them replaced, a 98, and a 99. I used to help on headgasket jobs all the time at the dealer but never had the opportunity to own this engine because at that time I had my 95 LSI with the 2.2.

Anyways on my other 99 Outback I have 138,000 miles and no headgasket problems although I am unaware if they have been replaced or not, BUT I filled up today and calculated 13 miles per gallon. I could'nt believe it, the car runs awesome, plenty of power and no CEL. What could be causeing this? This is not the first instance of this poor mileage but it has never been this low.

Any insight on this would be greatly appreciate as I hear the price of gas in on the rise again.

Thanks Tim,

formerly fldcar

if you have a heavy foot your mileage can drop substantially depending on driving conditions. what kind of driving are you doing? if this is all highway miles then somethign is wrong. if you're accelerating and decelerating all the time with a heavy foot in stop and go traffic then it might not be too far off.

check your brake calipers. make sure they are working properly. make sure the calipers slide smoothly and the slide pins are greased. check the pads and look for abnormal wear. turn each wheel by hand and look for abnormal or uneven resistance. post anything out of the norm.

check tire pressure (though it shouldn't bring mileage down that much).

how many miles on the car? any CEL lights, any recent work done to the car? any noises? manual or automatic? AWD or FWD? how many miles per week are you driving?

gas cap might not be sealing tight.

when was the last time the spark plugs were replaced?

Oxygen sensor maybe?