Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Sounds like a lawnmower

I have a total newbie question. Over the past few days my 4WD wagon has started to sound like your basic Briggs and Straton riding mower :mad: . I recently replaced the entire exhaust (with a lot of help) and am thinking the bolts may have come loose...or maybe I knocked one of the vacuum hoses free noodling with the engine. I've also noticed that the idle seems to be going batty as well. It's idling up at around 2K. Perhaps a better description of the sound is that inside the car I hear it tapping.

The car seems to run okay and while it feels like it has less power it doesn't seem to be hugely different than before the lawnower sound. I did a forum search and I get everything from blown heads to broken timing belt (I'll run down and check the timing belt as soon as I post this).

Anyone have any suggestions?

Kevin

Sounds a lot like you blew out one of the Air Injection Valves, and melted the silencer material - the plastic from the silencer will get sucked into the carb, mess with your throttle plates and cause the high idle - the noise you hear is the failed melted silencer not silencing anymore - it's like a little mini-muffler for the AIS. You can block the AIS valve with a quarter at it's inlet pipe, and remove the silencer. Clean all the crap out of the carb and your idle should go back to normal. Probably won't have to rebuild the carb since it runs, but you never know.

.... or it could be an actual exhaust leak - check the y-pipe studs in the head - notorious for working loose, and stripping out. Tap them over to 7/16"x20 if they are stripped and use a bolt with a lock washer.

GD

If you have a EFI (not a carbie) model then it very well could be an exaust leak before the O2 sensor. This will make the car think it's mixture is wrong and try to make it right.. Which will make your idle go up and down and also can make it run very high.