Ultimate Subaru Message Board

On a 2000 Legacy, I've done front brake pads but now will be changing rotors. Seems straightforward... remove wheel, caliper, tap rotor with heel of shoe until loose and reverse order greasing caliper slides and placing new pads on way out. Correct?

Now the new territory for me is the rear discs. How or does the emergency brake come into play in changing pads... it is on the rear, isn't it?

I like to be certain when doing brakes as if my life depended on it... oh yeah it does.

Genuine Subaru parts best bet?

in my experience subaru brake systems seem to be fine with aftermarket stuff. i'd get good quality pads though, not the cheapest thing you can buy. i'm not a brake expert so i'll refrain from specific suggestions.

your process sounds about right. remove master cylinder cap and press the caliper piston back in place is all i would add. i have a large eyedropper to suck any brake fluid out that may overflow as i push the piston back in.

some subaru's (not sure about the later models) have set screws in the rotors. these are really annoying if you can't get them out. i usually just drill them out and don't reinstall them, many (most) cars don't have them anyway. impact screwdrivers are the cleaner method.

on the rears...if they're anything like the e-brake calipers i'm used to you'll need the generic 4 dollar box brake tool at the auto parts store for turning the pistons in. they have to be turned in rather than pushed in.

On a 2000 Legacy, I've done front brake pads but now will be changing rotors. Seems straightforward... remove wheel, caliper, tap rotor with heel of shoe until loose and reverse order greasing caliper slides and placing new pads on way out. Correct?

Now the new territory for me is the rear discs. How or does the emergency brake come into play in changing pads... it is on the rear, isn't it?

I like to be certain when doing brakes as if my life depended on it... oh yeah it does.