Ultimate Subaru Message Board

wagon woes...

ignorance truely is bliss. ive reached a point where ive realized that i will never be able to truely rally the buggy. for those of you unfamiliar with the car, its an 89 gl-10 turbo wagon. 5mt w/FT4wd, center lock, etc.

the car is too old, and im a noob mechanic at best. there is virtually no aftermarket for these older cars as far as performance goes. the car would need mucho work if it were to see any more enthusiastic driving. ive rallycrossed the car once, and otherwise just bomb mountain roads. most of the rallycrosses close to me involve a few hours of driving, and im concerned about the reliablility of the car. i dont want a t-belt or an axle going out on me on the highway.

right now, the car could use a new set of t-belts, a new radiator, shifter bushing needs fixed, intercooler needs to be installed, possibly needs a new clutch, maybe an axle, engine probably needs a new set of rings, and the suspension is crap. i dont have the time/money/skill to fix that stuff on my own. :-\

whats worse is i dont think i could sell it as it sits. its got racing seats, the passenger compartment is gutted from the dash back, radio replaced with a gauge panel, a/c was removed, sunroof was taken out and welded shut (and today i found out it leaks :mad:), and theres various other things that make it not so daily driver friendly. its not much of a looker. i thought of parting it out, but again, im green, so i have a hard time of telling what parts would be salvagable.

at this point i really have no idea what i should do with the buggy. if youve made it this far through my poorly punctuated/spelled rant, perhaps you could offer some advise?

TIA, john

(yes, i am the jackass in front of the wagon)

PICT1507.jpg