Ultimate Subaru Message Board

:confused: Ok here goes... I have a 96 legacy 2.2 ej. Ive known the clutch has been slipping for a while and it has been getting worse Ive been driving it for a week or two pretty much without the clutch. Well yesterday while driving it the timing belt broke. No problem it broke just down the road from my house so I towed it home, I had a timing belt to put on so I did that this morning. Well now the car wont start I double checked the timing marks and everything looks good. When I try to start it you can hear the starter spinning, its turning the crank (it just seems like its not spinning as fast as the starter). So I guess my question is...would the clutch have anything to do with the starter not engaging all the way?? or maybe I still dont have the timing right on?? it looks like its right. Im just lost as to whats going on.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Im pretty new at working on Subs. The only reason Ive been able to do anything to it is because of this board.

-Thanks Jason

Bet you used the wrong marks to do the timing belt.

Just make sure the notches on the tooth on the backside of the crank sprocket, and the notches on the outer lip of the cam sprockets, are lined up with the marks on the timing belt, and you are all set to go. You don't need to pay attention to anything else.

Hopefully this is helpful, I thought about this post while re-reading one of the EndWrench article on T-belts:

Identifix often gets calls from techs stumped on a nostart with supposedly all the magic ingredients: Spark, fuel, and compression at 110 psi.The problem is a skipped belt. A properly timed car will typically crank out 175 psi. Two teeth off will drop it to around 110 and the engine won’t start.You might want to think about checking ignition timing while cranking the engine.

Note that the arrows on the cam sprockets are for piston position, not valve timing. :D