Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Fuel, spark, no start

Hello, I have a 1983 Subaru GL 5Dr wagon (EA81?) which recently stopped starting. It:

- Cranks

- Has fuel (plugs covered in plenty of fuel after cranking)

- Has spark during cranking

- Won't start even if I take the air filter cover off to allow direct air to the throttle body

What should I check next? Some sort of carbureator issue? I'm new to the carb world, so helpful resources would be nice :) Are there any online manuals with torque specs and info such as where the oil pressure sender is located?

Thanks

The other essential is fuel delivery to the carb.

You should try to determine if it's getting to the carb, and whether the amount of fuel is sufficient to keep the car running. Starting fluid, or gasoline will give you a quick and dirty answer as to whether the car is capable of running in its current state. I'd try that first, and come back with your results.

good luck, John

I have had the pin strip out that retains the bottom gear on the distributor so it twisted a bit, I still had spark but was not insinc with the piston position... this is very rare so look at that last.

Do you have a good spark or a weak spark... can't imagine that being the problem.... usually something would happen if there was some spark.

Fuel on the plugs... sounds like you got lots of fuel too... hmmmmm...

Not much help... but welcome to the board. Someone will come along and give you somemore ideas....

there is also a "Search" feature above, you can go look at some of the older posts regarding "no start" etc..

Does the car try to fire? Or is there just nothing there?

If you want to make sure your spark is in the right place do something like this.