Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Timing an EA82?

OK. I spent some time searching last night...so maybe someone can help me out here.

1990 Loyale Automatic...How do I time this thing? I saw where someone said that you have to time it via the flywheel...but as far as I can see...the flywheel is completely encased within the bellhousing???

I am getting some hellacious spark knock out of this thing...but have not been able to figure out (last night at dusk when I was messing with it) how to time it.

For reference, I have been working on Fords, Chevy's, Dodges and Jeeps for over 30 years (almost all of my life)...so I am not a complete mechanical newbie...but I am not completely accustomed to working on these Subes... ;)

By the way...a pictures worth a thousand words... :clap:

Yes, you check timing on the flywheel. I failed CA smog because of the fact the technician did NOT know how to check my timing... yeah, lame :dead:

i dont have pix handy, but i'll tell ya how to do it.

Take out your spare tire first...

Look down in the middle of the bellhousing, by where the trans and engine meet, sorta close to it

there should either be a hole with the flywheel right there, and a notch showing you where the timing should line up. theres numbers on the flywheel, so just line up the number with that little notch

if you dont see it, there MAY be a rubber cover on it, a black one... lift it off, and then there it is.

the usual, hook up the light to #1 cylinder (passenger side front) hook up light to battery, and point 'er at the flywheel. turn the disty, im sure you know how to do it...

timing's simple on these cars

Also, since your 90 Loyale is SPFI, connect the green connectors under the hood and in the back driver's side corner of the engine bay. This puts the ECU into diagnostic mode and locks the timing.

Can you elaborate on this?

I know...

Doggone Soob Newbs... ;):banana:

Not much to elaborate.