Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Replacing a Loyale radiator - need a little help...

I'm taking out the old, busted radiator from my '93 Loyale tomorrow and replacing it with a new one. I've never done it before. Can you guys tell me what tools I will need and what the most efficient way of removing the old and dropping in the new one is? What bolts do I need to take out? Which ones don't need to be removed? The car is not here, it's in the parking lot of a hotel where the radiator blew, so I can't see it now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank, y'all,

- Tyler

10mm wrench, flat screwdriver, philips screwdriver.

Un-do hose clamps, un-plug rad fan/temp sensor, un-do top brackets, pull out from the top.

You might want to take a couple of new 1 1/4 hose clamps.

The rad locates on rubbers that are installed over pins on the bottom, make sure to move the rubbers over to the new rad.

Probably one of the easiest rads you will ever change.

You may want to remove the fan(s). The one bolted to the rad is easy. 2 bolts on the top and maybe 2 on the bottom. Disconnect the plug and it comes right out. Now, if you have a clutch fan, its a little more diffucult. Theres 4 bolts holding it to the waterpump shaft. Its a tight squeeze getting a wrench in there to remove them, but with patience it can get done.

Shouldn't have to take the clutch fan off. And there are two 12mm(the size of the head of the bolt) holding the radiator. Electric fans can stay on, but it may be easier to remove.

Steps, that I can think of.

-Drain Coolant

-Undo upper and lower hoses at the engine(at least that's easiest for me)

-Disconnect electric fan wire

-Undo and plugged tranny lines (If it's an automatic)

-Removed two bolts on top

-Remove overfill tank line

-Pull up, minding the clearance