Ultimate Subaru Message Board

my 75 doller diamond in the ruff

ok so i was comin back from a camping trip and i saw a little soob in a feild and i stoped it is an 82 wagon 5 speed gl 2wd no power anything but it was 75 bucks it needs a passenger side fender and bumper on the front also a passenger head and marker light. but it was 75 bucks and i drove it home :banana: i gota set of turob aluminum wheels for it and i am getting the parts like next week.75dollerdiamond5.jpg75dollerdiamond1.jpg

yup fwd what do you think about an ea82 swap with 5 spd duel range :)

i meen i just happen to have the parts laying around:Flame:

(GD, are you ready for this?)

I think you oughta leave the OHV in there, MAYBE swap the SPFI on it but thats all I would recommend. Granted, I have little to no experience with the ea81s, BUT all of what I have read in the last year (and I have read most of it) tells me that the ea81 is no worse an engine than the 82, AND it lacks timing belts that can cause problems, AND the headgaskets are slightly less likely to blow. They should bolt up to the same transmission, right? So why bother swapping the OHC in there?

On the D/R, go for it.

Umm, thats an '83 or an '84 wagon. The '82s had a single sqaure headlight on either side. Good find though!

2WD GL '82s had the quad headlights.

all others had the large rectangular or large single rounds on either side.

82 was last year for red guage markers.

yup fwd what do you think about an ea82 swap with 5 spd duel range :)

i meen i just happen to have the parts laying around:Flame:

I would agree with Daerons suggestion of keeping the EA81 but swapping the SPFI onto it. The EA82 is too wide to fit in there without cutting/hammering the frame rails. They are too narrow by about 2-3 inches to accept the EA82.

Edit: Others are nowq saying that it will fit. I thought I had read about troubles with that swap. My bad

yeah after looking at it i kinda like the little engine how do i do the spfi swap.