Ultimate Subaru Message Board

The only guy with a DL Wagon (oil leak)

First off my dl rocks. dont need all that glam gl sh*t lol

Anyways new to subys took a look under my wagon today. Holy sh$t weird looking (usually works on small block chevys) anyways it looks like it drove a oil spill. It apears to be leaking from the valve cover gaskets and the oil pan gasket. Now again im new to subarus so i have no idea how hard it is to change these out. I was tempeted to use that seafoam stuff on the crankcase but after seeing that im afraid of turning a small leak into a huge one. Not that this is my biggest concern but i like keeping matienced vehicles.

Also if i were to get some aftermarked gauges so i can monitor engine temps what would be a good one and are they relatively simple to hook up on a fuel injected vehicle.

And finally this is not a high performance vehicle but what the hell is up with the 2 catalytic converters. Can i get rid of one, can i run a modified dual exhaust setup or will that kill the backrpressure on my vehicle. again i just like messin with cars not lookin to be ultra cool just maybe try to squeeze more then 88 ponys out of this thing

Maddog you are goinna take the shortcut to the interstate right. Were here to win aint we. If ya wana be a bear Be a grizzly

Yep, when you compare the suby to a small block it does look weird.....

The valve cover gaskets are not all that difficult to replace, I've done them(and head gaskets) with the motor in the car, it makes life easier if you jack up one side of the motor(I forget which), just make sure you change the cam seals at the same time, or you will be back in there shortly doing them too.........

If I remember right, you can do the oil pan gasket without jacking on the motor, when these motors get major leaks, I usually pull them and change all of the gasket/seals, it is the simplest way to change the rear crank seal and/or clutch too.