Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I'm looking into a 97 Subaru Outback with 155,808 miles for $4900. Is this a good deal? I've heard from a friend that Subarus are like Volvos in that they will hold their mileage well for a long time. I plan on getting a new Subaru in the future, once I have a career to afford one. However, being a full-time college student, I'm limited in my spending.

Is this generally a decent car? I drove a relatively new Outback Ltd up through the Rockies back in May and fell in love. I just wondered what their safety, gas mileage innercity/highway, repairs, etc. is like. I plan to check Consumer Reports up at the library this afternoon.

Any tips/suggestions would be helpful. I'm a complete Subaru noob, and I dont know jack about cars in general. :/ I just know I need an upgrade from my decrepit 1989 Volvo 740 GL that has smoke billowing out from under the hood.

I'm looking into a 97 Subaru Outback with 155,808 miles for $4900. Is this a good deal? I've heard from a friend that Subarus are like Volvos in that they will hold their mileage well for a long time. I plan on getting a new Subaru in the future, once I have a career to afford one. However, being a full-time college student, I'm limited in my spending.

Is this generally a decent car? I drove a relatively new Outback Ltd up through the Rockies back in May and fell in love. I just wondered what their safety, gas mileage innercity/highway, repairs, etc. is like. I plan to check Consumer Reports up at the library this afternoon.

Any tips/suggestions would be helpful. I'm a complete Subaru noob, and I dont know jack about cars in general. :/ I just know I need an upgrade from my decrepit 1989 Volvo 740 GL that has smoke billowing out from under the hood.

this sounds high to me, but then my wallet is usually pretty thin.