Ultimate Subaru Message Board

99 Legacy Wagon - vibration/no power when cold

Hi there, I'm new to the USMB system, and you guys look really knowledgeable. So, after having taken my 99 Legacy Wagon to two Subaru dealerships, as well as a few other mechanics, I had come to the end of my rope - until I found this message board.

First, a little background on the car. It's got about 56,000 miles on it, and I bought it used from a dealership back in 2002. So, you see we don't drive much, and when we do, it's for short trips (<5 miles). The problems with vibration and lack of power have been happening for a couple years now, but otherwise the car runs alright. Here is a detailed list of symptoms:

1. When car is started cold, and switched into “Drive” (D) gear, car is slow to switch gears when going up a hill or attempting hard acceleration (e.g., to get into moving traffic from stopped position). I have to press the gas pedal to the floor to get the car to switch gears in these cases. If trying to go up a steep hill when car is cold, car will slow down to a near stop until I switch gears manually or press the gas pedal to the floor. When pressing the gas pedal to the floor to switch gears in D gear, it may take a few seconds before gear will shift.

2. When car is started cold, and attempting hard acceleration shortly thereafter, car accelerates very slowly at first. After a few seconds of slow acceleration, it begins to pick up quickly.

3. When car is still cold, and stopped while in D gear, car vibrates. If car is switched into “Park” (P) or “neutral” (N) gear, vibrating stops. I have also noticed greater than normal vibration at speeds in excess of about 50 mph.