Ultimate Subaru Message Board

an '87 Loyale from Utah to Boston?

I'm looking at buying an '87 Loyale with 132k miles, the interior is in almost perfect shape, the engine bay is cleeeean, and it seems to cruise on the freeway @ 75 mph no prob. new timing belt, water pump, fluids. It has a/c, power mirrors, tilt wheel, and EVERYTHING works great! it's fwd (2 wheel drive) with the 4 high and 4 low t case.

QUESTION:

I've read some good and bad about the ea82 engines. If maintained well, could this engine get me to Boston and back (3500 mi. one way) this summer? Do they typically do ok on loooong road trips?

at 75mph on the freeway, it's cruising at 3500 rpm's. what rpms is too high? I'd like to push it up to 80 when I can, but I dont' want to wind it up too high. is 4k rpms too high?

What kind of mileage can I expect?

sorry for the questions, I'm a noob to subies.:rolleyes: I'm a toyota guy normally. But this Loyale seems sweeeet!

before driving cross country, you would want to be sure of when the timing belts were last changed. More than 30-40K miles ago would be to long to trust for the type of travel you are talking about.

You would also want to make sure it is not loosing any coolant, all the CV axles are good with intact boots, and of course change the oil.

Even if it isn't leaking, if the coolant hoses are are old and crappy you should consider having them changed for summer road tripping.

If maintained well, could this engine get me to Boston and back (3500 mi. one way) this summer? Do they typically do ok on loooong road trips?

Have everything checked out first, but if it's been well maintained, the car should get you there and back, easily.

I'm

at 75mph on the freeway, it's cruising at 3500 rpm's. what rpms is too high? I'd like to push it up to 80 when I can, but I dont' want to wind it up too high. is 4k rpms too high?

If the engine is healthy, running at highway speeds shouldn't be a problem.