Ultimate Subaru Message Board

97 OBS EJ22 5MT ABS

is there some special technique or procedure for these brakes? i pulled the booster and master out for other work. i also disassembled, cleaned and reassembled the front brakes while replacing axles - pads and rotors are worn but okay. i haven't touched the rear brakes yet. i bench bled the master before reinstalling, then bled each wheel in this order:

right front

left rear

left front

right rear

i didn't see a bleeder or anything on the abs unit so i didn't do anything with it.

pedal feels good but you have to press harder on the pedal than before. does this sound like air trapped in there or maybe a problem with the booster?

i couldn't find answers by searching. thanks

I am no expert on abs systems, however, from my own experience on my 99 OBW with abs, I used a "one man" bleeder unit last summer to put in fresh Dot 3 brake fluid. All went well, with the car stopping well ever since. I am not aware of anything to bleed on the abs system itself. To me, it sounds like your brake job is finished.

thanks for the pdf, nipper.

"Sequence Control Operational Guidelines

• Connect diagnosis terminals to 3 terminals

(K) and 6 terminals (L) of the

diagnosis connector located under the

driver’s side of the instrument panel.

• Set the speed of all wheels at 2 MPH

or less.

• Within 0.5 seconds after the ABS

warning lamp goes out, immediately

after the ignition switch is turned to

on, depress the brake pedal and hold.

Caution: Do not depress the clutch

pedal.

Note: When the ignition switch is set to

on, the brake pedal must not be

depressed. The engine must not operate."

it seems like its saying you have to have all the wheels rotating at 2mph with the engine off... huh?

then all it says about sequence control besides how to get there (the above excerpt) is this:

"Conditions For Completion Of Sequence Control

• When the speed of at least one wheel

reaches 6 MPH, the operation is